The Philadelphia Section Scholarship Committee is pleased to announce that the Section has awarded 15 scholarships, totaling $12,500 for the 2018-2019 scholarship drive! Congratulations to the outstanding students listed below!

Scholarship – Philadelphia STLE

Doctoral Students

Preethi Ravula, University Maryland, Mechanical Engineering.

Fernando A.R. Uscanga, Rutgers University, Biomedical Engineering.

Hannah Spece, Drexel University, Biomedical Engineering.

Lu Fang, University of Pennsylvania, Mechanical Engineering.

Thomas Grejtak, Lehigh University, Mechanical Engineering.

Kasey Campbell, Lehigh University, Polymer Science & Engineering.

Steven Voinier, University of Delaware, Mechanical Engineering.

Jamie BensonUniversity of Delaware, Biomedical Engineering.

Arnab Bhattacharjee, University of Delaware, Mechanical Engineering.

Masters Students

Haihuan Wang, University of Pennsylvania, Material Science & Engineering.

Undergraduate Students

Christopher Kondratowicz, Stevens Institute of Technology, Chemical Engineering.

Kristen Zozulia, College of New Jersey, Biomedical Engineering.

Michael AlgarraDrexel University, Biomedical Engineering.

Sanjana Subramaniam, Temple University, Bioengineering & Chemistry.

Brantley Balsamo, Lehigh University, Bioengineering

Please join the Section in congratulating our winners. Click on the students names above for more detailed descriptions of each and their research. In addition, each will be presenting his or her research at an upcoming Section meeting.
We’re also grateful to the companies and individuals who have contributed to the Scholarship Fund. Their generosity and commitment to training the next generation of tribology leaders has enabled the Section to award $56,000 to 43 outstanding students over the last five years.

As we look forward to the 2019-20 Scholarship drive, we hope to count on you once again for your kind support. With your help, along with matching funds from National STLE Organization, we hope to award over $15,000 in 2020 to deserving students in our local area. All contributions will be acknowledged at our monthly meetings, on our website and in communications to our members.  It’s a great way to enhance your company’s image while helping deserving local students.  All contributions are Tax Deductible to the extent allowed by law and should be payable to:

“STLE Philadelphia Section Scholarship Fund”.

You can make a donation through PayPal HERE

Or send donations to:

STLE – Philadelphia Section Scholarship Fund

Linda Pascali

Treasurer – STLE Philadelphia Section

146 Oakridge Dr.

Langhorne PA 19047

Heartfelt Thanks for your continuing participation and support.  Please don’t hesitate to call or e-mail if there is anything you need from your local STLE Philadelphia Section.  Wishing you and your company continued success in all of your endeavors.


Bill Tuszynski – STLE Philadelphia Scholarship Committee

Jillian Beyer – STLE Philadelphia Scholarship Committee

Jeremy Styer – STLE Philadelphia Scholarship Committee

Check out other past scholarship winners here:

2018 Scholarship Winners