The Philadelphia Section Scholarship Committee is pleased to announce that the Section has awarded 11 scholarships, totaling $12,000 for the 2019-2020 scholarship drive! Congratulations to the outstanding students listed below!

Doctoral Students

Harnoor Sachar, University Maryland, Mechanical Engineering.

K. Istiaque Alam, University of Delaware, Mechanical Engineering.

Meghan Kupratis, University of Delaware, Biomedical Engineering.

Joe Rummaneethorn, 0University of Pennsylvania, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering.

Tomas Babushka, Lehigh University, Mechanical Engineering.

Yoliem S. Miranda Alanón, Rutgers University, Biomedical Engineering.

Masters Students

Madara Dias, Rutgers University, Biomedical Engineering.

Rishabh Chaudhary, University of Maryland, Mechanical Engineering.

Undergraduate Students

Nathan Purnell, University of Maryland, Mechanical Engineering.

Rachel Lambert, Villanova University, Mechanical Engineering.

Jonah Harder, Wilkes University, Mechanical Engineering.

Please join the Section in congratulating our winners. Click on the students names above for more detailed descriptions of each and their research. In addition, each will be presenting his or her research at an upcoming Section meeting.
We’re also grateful to the companies and individuals who have contributed to the Scholarship Fund. Their generosity and commitment to training the next generation of tribology leaders has enabled the Section to award $68,000 to 43 outstanding students over the last six years.

As we look forward to the 2020-21 Scholarship drive, we hope to count on you once again for your kind support. With your help, along with supporting funds from National STLE Organization, our goal is to award  $12,500 in 2021 to deserving students in our local area. All contributions will be acknowledged at our monthly meetings, on our website and in communications to our members.  It’s a great way to enhance your company’s image while helping deserving local students.  All contributions are Tax Deductible to the extent allowed by law and should be payable to:

“STLE Philadelphia Section Scholarship Fund”.

You can make a donation through PayPal HERE

Or send donations to:

STLE – Philadelphia Section Scholarship Fund

Linda Pascali

Treasurer – STLE Philadelphia Section

146 Oakridge Dr.

Langhorne PA 19047

Heartfelt Thanks for your continuing participation and support.  Please don’t hesitate to call or e-mail if there is anything you need from your local STLE Philadelphia Section.  Wishing you and your company continued success in all of your endeavors.


Bill Tuszynski – STLE Philadelphia Scholarship Committee

Jillian Beyer – STLE Philadelphia Scholarship Committee

Jeremy Styer – STLE Philadelphia Scholarship Committee

Check out other past scholarship winners here:

2019 Scholarship Winners